Saturday, August 6, 2011

Current Affairs

Capital New Delhi (28°36.8′N 77°12.5′E)
Largest city Mumbai
Official language(s)
Hindi, English
Recognised regional languages
8th Schedule
National languages None defined by the Constitution[6]
Demonym Indian
Government Federal parliamentary (constitutional republic)
President Pratibha Patil
Prime Minister Manmohan Singh (INC)
Speaker of the House Meira Kumar (INC)
Chief Justice S. H. Kapadia
Legislature Sansad
Upper House Rajya Sabha
Lower House Lok Sabha
Independence from the United Kingdom
Declared 15 August 1947
Republic 26 January 1950
Area 3,287,263 Sq km (1,269,219 sq mi )
Water (%) 9.56
Population 2011 census 1,210,193,422[8] (2nd)
Population Density 365/km2 (945.3/sq mi)
Currency Indian rupee () (INR)
Time zone IST (UTC+5:30)
Summer (DST) not observed (UTC+5:30)
Date formats dd/mm/yyyy (AD)
Drives on the left
ISO 3166 code IN
Internet TLD .in
Calling code 91

No comments:

Design by Free WordPress Themes | Bloggerized by Lasantha - Premium Blogger Themes | Blogger Templates